ode to the toad

I was backing out of my driveway tonight to park my car on the road so my dad could get out for work. Walking up the driveway, I thought I saw something move and upon closer inspection I had half-way run over a toad. I didn’t completely smoosh it… it was like I just got a leg/ the back part of him. Runny blood and guts. Shiny and wet and ugh. I fussed a little and told it I was so sorry and then I started to cry and ran into the house.

I’ve never killed anything like that before.

I just heard my dad back out for work – I hope he hit it too and killed it for real this time and ended its misery. I left it suffering there in the driveway.

I am so legitimately sad and heavy hearted right now.

One thought on “ode to the toad

  1. christinaheart says:

    Oh my god, I know how terrible you probably felt.

    I’ve killed numerous suicidal birds on my way to school, back in the day. Also, I once hit a kitty. I mean, I couldn’t have done anything to avoid it that wouldn’t have wrecked my car… but god, that SUCKED. 😦

Leave a Reply

