so… you’re an idiot and that’s why i should let you steal the inserts?

So, yet another interesting episode tonight of my clash with (what’s left of) humanity at Walgreens. My co-worker was at the front register and I happened to be walking over to chat with her because it was about 9:30 and we close at 10, so I was pretty much done with all of my fun closing activities. Well at the same moment, we saw a woman rooting through the Sunday paper inserts and tearing out ADs and who knows what else.

She says “I’m just gonna take this” and waves a Toys R’ Us AD and heads for the door. My girl was like “Umm.. you can’t do that”  and the woman replied “I don’t care.” I’m merely observing up to this point and I wait for Marsaydisz to do something, but she just sighs and walks away.

Now maybe I’m just a mean person. Maybe this makes me the kid who would be the hall monitor in grade school, I don’t know, but I wasn’t gonna let this lady off easy.

“Mam, please return the insert to the paper. You’re going to have to purchase a paper if you want that.” She stops midway out the door and looks at me. “It’s just going to be gone tomorrow anyway.”  ….. “It doesn’t matter mam, we sell the papers for a reason.”

She goes “I didn’t get one in my Sunday paper!” I replied “Well, you’re going to have to buy ours. You can speak with a manager if you’d like? I can call her up.”  She just looks at me and mumbles things under her breath. Finally she marches back in “I’m just gonna stand here and read it then!” I told her that’s fine and I truly was over it. She  looked at it for literally 2.5 seconds, I don’t think she even opened it, and then says “HERE. HERE’S YOUR INSERT BACK”

I thanked her and she said in her most fake voice “You’re welcome” and marched out.

15 minutes later she called the store apologizing to my manager, not without calling me “snotty”… which is funny, because I really wasn’t being snotty. I was merely stating that she cannot have what she wanted without purchasing it. It’s the same as stealing! So it was pretty funny and we all had a good laugh over it, but honestly… people have balls man. I would never dream of walking into a place and taking things without paying for them, even if it is just paper inserts. I mean, that’s why people buy the Sunday paper. It isn’t ’cause they wanna hear the latest slum story about Youngstown. Come on. It’s the coupons.

And I’m of the no-exceptions variety. I hate making exceptions on things that people consider harmless, because eventually people come to expect the same thing over and over, and when we do own up and say we can’t do it for them for whatever reason, we are to blame because now they are unhappy.

It’s hard to win, isn’t it? That was a snapshot of the fun I had tonight. I can’t wait to relax tomorrow. Bobby’s mom is making lamb. They make this amazing lemon and garlic marinade/sauce to go with it.. it’s ridiculous. SO good. And then the fair… but first I have waking up early/running/going into the paper for awhile to get through, so I better call it a night.

Hope you’re all having a great Labor Day weekend!

4 thoughts on “so… you’re an idiot and that’s why i should let you steal the inserts?

  1. christinaheart says:

    Ok, so, first off — you are so awesome for actually saying something. Most people wouldn’t say anything because, while it’s wrong, it’s a pain in the ass to deal with someone like that.

    Which brings me to my next point — PEOPLE ARE SO DUMB! I mean, I occasionally buy the Patriot News on Sundays just for the flyers and coupons. Normal people don’t steal paper inserts!

    Also, I kind of laughed at your story. I feel bad about laughing because I’m sure that was relatively frustrating… but the lack of common sense in people is amazing.

    When stupid people walk into my life, I try very hard to remember that 90% of people are decent human beings and the other 10% are just trying to ruin it for the rest of us.

    • kmariam says:

      Haha I guess I’m just sick of people getting away with things. I think now that I am less dependent on that job, I feel more comfortable speaking up when people do stupid shit. That’s gotta be it. And I’m glad you laughed – that’s why I shared the story. I also agree.. about your last statement, but I think the majority of the people who shop WAG are in the 10%. I try to tell myself “Everybody has something they are struggling through” to sort of give them an excuse for being an idiot/asshole but it’s really lost its edge on the idiots.

  2. christinaheart says:

    PS: I always forget to hit that little “notify me of follow-up comments via email” button before I submit a comment. Argh.

Leave a Reply

