it started with a sale

So tonight at Walgreens I was putting up ad tags and I noticed 5 subject notebooks were on sale for $1.99. I don’t know why, but I love notebooks. Maybe it’s the wanna-be-a-writer in me (which is stupid considering I type everything) but I can’t really explain it, I just love paper. Ha. So I was like “What would I use that for…” and then it struck me! I would use it kind of like the way girls do in Junior High when they want to pass notes to friends.

I’ll write something to Bobby… whether it’s about how happy I am or how much I love him, or things that are bothering me, etc.. and give it to him when I see him next. He can’t read it until he goes to respond to the entry, and then he gives it to me the next time he sees me, and so on.

I thought it was a cute idea. We’ll see how long it lasts. It will be fun to have around to look back on 50 years from now. If I ever get around to quitting my weekend job, I think I really ought to get back to the scrapbooking. I’m kind of annoyed with myself for letting it get so out of control. I have so many things to scrap!

I love thinking about the wedding, the honeymoon… but dreaming up all the details really makes me restless. Because I just can’t act on them right now. It’s maddening!

Enough of this…  I think i’ll go break in our notebook with entry number one.

7 thoughts on “it started with a sale

  1. Judy says:

    AW! I remember those days when friends and I passed around notebooks and stuff. I hope your Bobby actually does it; I don’t see why not since he is the artsy type. Any other meatballer type of guy would not be up for that!

    And as for weddings … omg. I get so excited when I start looking at wedding-related things but I stop because I know I’ll just get sucked into looking at a million different things. So, I can imagine that it’s much more ‘maddening’ for you. Boyfriend has said that when it comes to having a wedding, I can have ANYTHING I want. Great emphasis on the “anything” and that makes me a little worried. We can have one wedding or two (bc our families live on opposite sides of the country), whatever size, etc. It almost feels like a trick though, you know? So okay, I “can” have anything I want, but seriously. Who’s paying for it? We/I would. So at the end of the day, I have to remind myself whose pocket the checkbook would emerge from, and so that anything is really not everything. Or he’s banking on the fact that he knows I’m not a frivolous girl, but either way, weddings = make girls crazy PERIOD.

    • kmariam says:

      Haha I know it would be cheesy by most people’s standards, let alone GUYS… but this is why I love Bobby! He thinks it’s a great idea.

      I definitely know I can’t have “anything” I want at our wedding … Ahh I have so much to save for. We have some pretty good ideas to save money but who knows if they will actually be practical when we get around to purchasing and designing things. It’s just too soon to tell, unfortunately.

  2. etothel says:

    SUCH a cute idea!! I still have a few notebooks when my friends and I did that.
    To calm my wedding restlessness, I made lots of lists and had a ton of things bookmarked on my laptop of things I wanted to buy. When it came down to buying it, I got nothing that I had saved LOL

    • kmariam says:

      I actually have a binder that I use for storing pages I rip out of the wedding magazines (after i buy them of course, haha!) just to give me ideas to go on. Kinda silly but yeah, that’s how excited I was right after we got engaged haha!

  3. g says:

    I am here! Following you on wordpress now.. Martian G.

  4. Aw, how cute. I remember doing that with my friends. Tried to do that with Colby only I was the only one writing in a journal for him. I kinda gave up on it.

Leave a Reply

